Recognition for South Texas Health System McAllen

Learn about the awards and accreditations earned by South Texas Health System McAllen:

Patient Safety Excellence Award

  • Patient safety excellence award badgeReceived the Patient Safety Excellence Award from Healthgrades (2019-2021). In addition, the hospital ranks among the top 10% of hospitals in the nation for patient safety (2019-2021).


  • Received Chest Pain Management certification by The Joint Commission.
  • All six South Texas Health System Freestanding Emergency Departments (FEDs) have received Chest Pain Management certification by The Joint Commission.

Emergency and Trauma Care

Laboratory Services

  • Accredited by the College of American Pathologists for meeting or exceeding the most scientifically rigorous customized checklist requirements.

Maternity Care

  • STHS McAllen participates in the Texas Ten Step program. The Department of State Health Services (DSHS), in collaboration with the Texas Hospital Association, developed the program as a method to improve maternity care practices in birthing facilities. Policy development, education of staff and provision of discharge resources for breastfeeding mothers are key initiatives.
  • Recognized by Healthgrades for women’s services year after year.
    • Gynecologic Surgery Excellence Award (2019-2022)
    • Gynecologic Procedures Five-Star Recipient (2017-2022)
    • Hysterectomy Five-Star Recipient (2019-2022)


  • Recognized by Healthgrades as a Five-Star Recipient for Hip Fracture Treatment (2021-2022).


  • Accredited in MRI and Nuclear Medicine by the American College of Radiology (ACR).

Rehabilitation Services

Stroke Care

  • The South Texas Health System Neurosciences & Stroke Institute has received the American Heart Association®/American Stroke Association®’s Get With The Guidelines Stroke Gold Plus with Honor Roll Elite Plus, Advanced Therapy and Target: Type 2 Diabetes Honor Roll Quality Achievement Award 2022.
  • Received a Comprehensive Stroke Center designation from DNV and a Comprehensive (Level I) Stroke Facility designation from the Texas Department of State Health Services.
  • South Texas Health System’s six Freestanding Emergency Departments have each earned an Acute Stroke Ready Hospital certification by The Joint Commission.

Women's Services

  • Received the 2021 Women’s Choice Awards for Best Hospitals for Mammogram Imaging Center.

Wound Care

  • The South Texas Health System Wound Healing Center has received the 2020 Center of Distinction award by Healogics®.

Last updated 12/2022